#WobblesWednesday – putting my hand up

It’s Wednesday and I’m linking up with #WobblesWednesday , devised by Kate at nakedmum.co.uk

I’m struggling at the moment, I’m putting my hand up like an eager school child and admitting it.

Here’s why:

I don’t trust my scales anymore. I had two positions in the house where I could get a constant reading..not any more. One place says 3lbs off, another says 2lbs on. Help from an external source with reliable scales is needed, I’m looking up Slimming World classes as soon as I’ve finished this post.

My children both have important appointments next week, one is to determine whether I have a second child on the autistic spectrum – and it won’t change a thing for us as a family if we do, it means he’ll be able to access support – the other is a medical appointment for D, one that is potentially intrusive and one I’m not mentioning publicly.

It’s also PMT time, I’m feeling crotchety, grumpy and frankly saddened at the state of the world when some group decides to blast marathon runners and spectators to bits, people who were running raising money for charities. There’s also the tragic news story from Lowestoft, in this age of social media news, theories and views travel too fast.

So, while I’m a bit miffed that I can’t trust my scales and therefore either say *yay* or *boo* or a *shrug*, in the wider scheme of things I am still lighter than at the start of the year, my Losing it for Autism is 19% of target already and we start with reliable readings from Friday.

I’m so grateful to everyone that has contributed so far, will do a once-monthly round-up on the autism blog.

My top tips this week:

Chances are if you feel hungry between meals, you’re not hungry, but thirsty. Have a drink of water/squash/coffee and then decide.

Coco Pops are my evening nibble of choice, little bowlful with no milk, takes absolutely ages to eat – especially with my long nails.

Remember the tortoise and the hare -it’s all very well these diets where you can lose half a stone a week, but are they sustainable and how much is water?

So, in a strange way I’m looking forward to the extra guidance and support that Slimming World will bring, not forgetting the more reliable scales readings. I do appreciate the support on here every Wednesday too…very much.

20130417-112850.jpg

10 thoughts on “#WobblesWednesday – putting my hand up

  1. My scales can be dodgy at times, I tend to weigh in 3 or 4 places and then work out the average lol! You have a huge appointment coming up, sometimes that’s a week to avoid the scales and concentrate on what’s really important. The fact you are keeping motivated is brilliant xx

  2. Hate hearing you sounding so down and you are lovely in that your spirit feels pain when you hear of tragedies. That is far more important than what size you are. I think you will love Slimming World. You can eat loads and you get that accurate weigh-in plus some friendly faces to get to know. Hope it works out well for you.
    How wonderful that even though you feel down, you share your tips in such a generous-spirited way.
    Wouldn’t want to not have you on #WobblesWednesday lovely lady

    • Thanks Kate, this time next week both the appointments will be out th way and we can move forward. The accurate weigh-in at SW is what I’m looking forward to…daft lump that I am!
      Hope your week ahead goes well 🙂

  3. I hope you enjoy your slimming world group as much as I do. The people in my group are one of the main reasons I’ve had success and have carried on with it for more than a couple of months 🙂
    Good luck for the week ahead xx

Leave a Reply

