#WobblesWednesday – back on the downward slope

Yes, I’m back on the downward slope after 3 weeks (?) of staying the same.

Yay! Mind you, I have discovered that my scales can vary in their readings by 3 stone or so on various floorings upstairs.

I truly was a nakedmum, trying to find a true-ish reading, so I’ve gone back to my original place – in the bathroom, just by that funny little white spot on the lino. What that funny little spot is I don’t know, it was there before we moved in, it refuses to be scrubbed or picked away but it’s my marker so it serves a purpose.

1.5 lbs down, despite the carbs described below.

There is a new series of Secret Eaters (Channel 4, Thursdays, 8pm) starting next week. I think it’s definitely worth a watch, Anna Richardson has provided some good tips in the write-up in TVTimes magazine and I’ve replicated them below:

1. The biggest tip is to be mindful about what you eat. Don’t sit in front of your TV or computer screen whilst having dinner. Sit with no distractions and focus on what you’re eating.

2. Liquid calories also count. Alcohol is second only to fat in calories.

3. Serve yourself food on a plate and then remove any temptation around you, so no-all-you-can-eat buffets! See the evidence of your good consumption in front of you, be it chicken bones or food wrappers. Psychologically, if you can see what you’ve consumed then you’ll eat less.

I think they are great tips! Ones that I’m definitely going to take heed of.

So, what’s my plan for the week ahead?

I need to up my protein intake and reduce my white carb intake. I’ve been finding beans on toast (no butter, just spread with bovril) a quick, satisfying meal but it is stodgy, I do feel better with a higher protein percentage.

I’ve already done some hard-boiled eggs this morning, ideal snack for me. Left to cool with a smidgen of black pepper. I haven’t been brave enough to take one into the coffee shop to peel whilst enjoying a skinny, decaff mocha but I might later!

I am starting to see a difference in the 15.5lbs lost, it’s good to see proof and that alone is an incentive to bear in mind the tips above and carry on, carrying on. Slow and steady WILL work!

Linking up with Kate at nakedmum – please click on the link to read how she and other ladies have been getting on this week.

My end image is a piece of artwork by Peter Smith, he does the most gorgeous bunny pictures (readers of my autism blog will know that my daughter’s special comforter is Bunny), this image is called “One at a time please” and I think it’s brilliant! One day I’ll have a copy of this in my bathroom, yes, on the wall right near that funny white spot on the floor!

20130320-101622.jpg

Thanks for reading and I’m looking forward to linking up and reading/commenting on other posts Jx 😘

19 thoughts on “#WobblesWednesday – back on the downward slope

  1. Well done you! Also I love how you write, so funny and so real and true. That’s the best way if you ask me. I used to do what you did on a very wobbly upstairs in a very old house. Now I just weigh in once a week at Slimming World and hope their scales are on the right lines.

    • Thanks so much Kate, I totally agree. I never used to keep a diary or anything but I love blogging, venturing outside the comfort zone with different topics too.
      Yes…the scales are proving an issue. Once I’m going to Curves regularly there will be once-a-month weigh-in so I’ll do that and hop around upstairs in-between.
      Good luck for the week ahead 🙂

    • Thanks K and you too. We’ve both got such busy (umm stressful) lives that any loss is a bonus. I do suddenly feel more motivated, which is a bonus.
      Good luck for the week ahead xx

  2. Well done!

    I find low fat cottage cheese has a higher protein percentage than baked beans and it’s still very low in calories (about 80kcal per 100g). All bread is very calorie dense, which I’m finding out a lot recently! Baked potatoes are a lot less so.

    • Thanks, me too! I need need need the print. Going to start looking for stuff to get onto ebay, but maybe not the children/pets…not sure about Hubbie lol!
      Good luck for the week ahead xx

  3. Yay! Go you! Glad it’s been good news this week. The scales at my gym vary by a kilo or more, depending on the flooring they’re on (there’s carpeted floor in the reception area, or wooden flooring in the exercise studio). I just go by the lowest number 😉

Leave a Reply

