#Prose4T – Those old men were young once..

20130502-082102.jpg

I’ve linked up with @VicWelton for #Prose4T today with the little contribution below.

The latest “celebrity” arrest has left a bad taste in my mouth: on the one hand this is someone I’ve grown up watching on TV; on the other, he’s a similar age to my father-in-law and goodness knows what he got up to 50+ years ago. You can’t tell, can you?

But, taking a more serious tone for a moment, I was assaulted two years ago and – although the feelings fade – the memories don’t leave you. “No” should always mean just that, and if the accusations are valid, then the victims need and deserve closure, however long ago it was.

Those old men were young once:

Gnarled old men, knuckles twisting,
Looking back upon their youth.

Many years ago, handsome and popular,
Girls a-plenty “off we go”!

Accusations now, pointed fingers,
Media spotlight, in the glare.
Victims, once too scared to speak, come forward,
Hoping someone will listen and care.

Scared old men now, confused and silent,
Thinking back to glory days,
Were they predatory? Time will tell,
They need to remember, have their say.

What was society like then? Free and easy?
Popular young stars, having their “fun”.

Beware, you take advantage and it will come back and get you,
The victim scarred by what you’ve done.

Thanks for reading Jx

6 thoughts on “#Prose4T – Those old men were young once..

  1. Good topic for a poem, very thought provoking. What was the real story? Was it malicious intent or did they think they were doing perfectly normal things that everyone was doing?

  2. This is such a touching poem and so very difficult to write about but you have done such a sympathetic job with it. When you introduced it, I wondered how the words would pan out but you have done it perfectly. I am so sorry to read that you were a victim yourself. I, too, have had to talk to the police about such things although the claims I made went unfounded (much to my disgust and disappointment). Thank you for linking this up to Prose For Thought lovely xxx

    • Thanks V, I’m sorry you’ve had similar too. I try not to let my experience limit us but as I don’t drive, it’s walking everywhere.
      I was so unsure about linking that up, so I’m pleased you liked it xx

Leave a Reply

